Fulbright Award

The Fulbright Award is a scholarship awarded as part of the Fulbright Program to foster international research and collaboration. The program also awards a fellowship to Ph.D.'s to lecture and teach in foreign universities. Established in 1946, the Fulbright Program aims to increase mutual understanding between the peoples of the United States and other countries, through the exchange of persons, knowledge and skills. Programs also bring foreign scholars to the United States and succeed in developing mutual understanding and access worldwide in the international academic and professional communities.

The program makes a number of awards at undergraduate, postgraduate, post-doctoral and Fellowship levels. Fulbrights are prestigious, career-enhancing awards. They also confer special status on winners during their year of foreign study, as outstanding, officially-recognized representatives of their country. Famous Fulbright recipients include Thomas R. Pickering, John Lithgow, Hedwig Gorski, Sylvia Plath, Boutros Boutros-Ghali, Charles Kennedy, and Renée Fleming.

Created through the efforts of US Senator J. William Fulbright, for over 60 years the Fulbright Program has been promoting peace and understanding through educational exchange. It is one of the most prestigious award programmes worldwide, operating in 144 countries and with 51 commissions. More Fulbright alumni have won Nobel Prizes than those of any other academic program, including two in 2010.


Post a Comment