Blake-Kirkpatrick Scholarship

The Blake-Kirkpatrick scholarship is Atlantic Canada's largest undergraduate scholarship, and is awarded to four students each year by the University of New Brunswick. It was established in 2004 by the university's chancellor, Richard Currie. The scholarship has been renamed the Currie Undergraduate Scholarship.
Applicants should submit an essay (not less than 250 words) to the Selection Committee giving evidence of their leadership capabilities, including (but not limited to) school and extracurricular activities. Also required in the essay is evidence of overcoming barriers or difficult situations. Applications not meeting all three criteria will automatically be disregarded.
Value of the Scholarship
The value of the scholarship used to depend on the university program chosen by the winner. However, since the Engineering programs have been reduced to four years, the value of the scholarship remains constant from program to program.
Each scholarship winner is awarded $50,000 over four (4) years as follows:
* Year 1: $15,000
* Year 2: $13,000
* Year 3: $12,000
* Year 4: $10,000
Selection Committee
The selection committee consists of:
* Mrs. C. Elizabeth Meier, B.A. ‘71, M.Sc. ‘75, B.Sc.N. ‘86;
* Rev. James W. Golding L.Th. ‘63;
* and Dr. Earle W. Wood, B.Sc. ‘59, BEd ‘66, M.A. ‘69, LL.D. ‘98.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.