Canadian Francophonie Scholarships Program

The AUCC has been the executing agency of the Canadian Francophonie Scholarship Program (CFSP) since July 1, 2006. The Government of Canada funds the CFSP program in its entirety. CFSP is a scholarship program which builds institutional capacities by training nationals of 37 developing countries of La Francophonie. The program is administered by the Canadian Partnership Branch of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA).

Association of Universities of the Canadian Francophonie (known by the acronym AUFC for its French name, "Association des universités de la francophonie canadienne") promotes university education in minority francophone communities in Canada, through cooperation between its member institutions. In the community it serves, each member institution plays a crucial role in cultural, social and economic development. The Association represents its member institutions on topics of mutual interest before the Government of Canada, national and international organizations.

The association is made up of the following 13 institutions which promote university education within minority francophone communities in Canada:[1]

* Campus Saint-Jean, of the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Alberta
* Institut français, of the University of Regina in Regina, Saskatchewan
* Collège universitaire de Saint-Boniface in Winnipeg, Manitoba
* Université de Hearst in Hearst, Ontario
* Université laurentienne in Sudbury, Ontario
* Université de Sudbury in Sudbury, Ontario
* Collège universitaire Glendon in Toronto, Ontario
* Collège militaire royal du Canada in Kingston, Ontario
* Université d'Ottawa in Ottawa, Ontario
* Univerité Saint-Paul in Ottawa, Ontario
* Collège universitaire dominicain in Ottawa, Ontario
* Université de Moncton in Moncton, New Brunswick
* Université Sainte-Anne in Church Point, Nova Scotia

Most of these institutions were founded by members of the Catholic clergy to serve isolated Francophone communities. While some institutions maintain religious missions, others have assumed specialized vocations such as the Royal Military College of Canada.

While some member institutions only offer study programs in French, others are bilingual (English/French). Some of the institutions are located in small Francophone communities while others are located in heavily populated Francophone areas.

The office of the association is located at: 260, rue Dalhousie, bureau 400 Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E4

No comments

Powered by Blogger.